A bit of lateral thinking

A bit of lateral thinking via Daily Prompt: Bludgeon

Looking at the definition of the word, bludgeon, shows that this word can either be a noun or a verb.  Not that that actually helped in any way – I still couldn’t make a connection with the word.

Trying a bit of word association, I started with weapon.  It didn’t take too much effort to leap to battle and that’s where I got my inspiration.

I, like countless others, have/am waging my own battle with The Black Dog.  I’m trying hard to rediscover myself, to start over and thought I would share some sayings that I pilfered from the internet.

Be patient, everything will come together.

Life has highs and lows – moments of great lightness and moments of great darkness.

Understand that the struggle you face today is developing the strength you need for tomorrow.

Do you tend to walk away from your thoughts or try harder to understand them.

Go ahead, take a deep breath.  You deserve to be okay.

Everything you want is waiting for you on the other side of fear.

One of the biggest mistakes we make is assuming that other people think the way we do.

Now is the time to stop hating yourself for all the things you aren’t and start loving yourself for everything you already are.

If you, or someone you know, is struggling with this my one piece of advice is – take your time.  Find out who YOU are, what YOU want and how YOU can make it possible.  There aren’t any one-fix-all solutions – not even going to tell you that you can do it if you put your mind to it (of course, if it was that simple, you would be swinging from the chandeliers already).  I will tell you though, it is worth it to stick with trying to understand you a little more.  I am surprised by who I am becoming;  am not at the end of the journey (not even sure if there is an end or if I am simply on the path going in the right direction) but I am liking what I have found so far.

Depression is a tough battle – it’s not merely a feeling of sadness, of loneliness – it’s so much more intense.  It’s the state of being where it hurts to share your deepest thoughts with your loved ones because you are trying to protect them, but it’s alter state is that you know that if you do not share those thoughts with someone/anyone, they will overpower you.  It’s being so brave on the outside that people tell you “oh, you don’t look depressed!”  It’s looking in the mirror at yourself and giving yourself a pep talk – “come on, you can do this, don’t cry”.  It’s being exhausted just from  listening to the thoughts in your own head.  It’s also not the same “process” for everyone, so don’t despair if people trying to help you (who have been through the same thing) are not equipped with the right words/actions to help you.  They still want to help you.  Depression is indeed a tough battle, but the warrior inside of you wants you to win.  I know, have the battle scars to prove it.

So, I say, grab a bludgeon (noun) and bludgeon (verb) that damned black dog.

 

 

Leave a Reply

